051 6121705

Meet with an Experienced Migration Agent Today

Skilled Visa

Skilled Nominated Visa – Subclass 190

The subclass 190 Skilled Nominated visa is a suitable choice for those who either don’t have an occupation listed on the MLTSSL or who need a few more points to meet the minimum score requirement. To qualify for this visa, you must agree to live and work in Australia for a period of two years after being nominated by a state or territory.

Application process

  1. Find a profession using the ANZSCO code list.
  2. Find a jurisdiction where that profession is included in its migration strategy.
  3. Submit an application for a skills evaluation and have it come out well.
  4. Take an English proficiency exam if you must.
  5. Submit a nomination application to the appropriate state or territory (some states do not require this)
  6. Apply through SkillSelect by submitting an EOI.
  7. Get a call saying you’ve been selected to apply
  8. Apply inside of 60 days

Visa eligibility criteria

The primary requirements for a Skilled Nominated Visa (subclass 190) are:

  • Any Australian state or territory can nominate someone.
  • A successful occupational skills evaluation
  • Getting an English proficiency score of IELTS 6 or higher or its equivalent
  • Those in the age range of 18 to 45, inclusive. You can’t be older than 45 when you’re extended an invitation.
  • The Usual Requirements Regarding Physical Fitness And Moral Compass
  • To get at least 65 out of a possible 100 on the General Skilled Migration point test.

State nomination

Nomination standards in Australia vary per state and territory. Some offer preferences to those who have graduated from a university in that state or territory, who are now employed in that region, or who have close relatives living there. The following links will take you to more detailed descriptions:

  • Western Australia
  • Northern Territory
  • Queensland
  • New South Wales
  • Australian Capital Territory
  • Victoria
  • Tasmania
  • South Australia

The points test

The General Skilled Migration Program in Australia uses a points system to rank all applicants. The minimum score required to be invited is 65, but applicants with better scores will typically be given invitations first. A state or territory nomination for a subclass 190 visa is worth 5 points, so keep that in mind.

Each occupation has a maximum annual invitation restriction, but in reality, only a tiny fraction of occupations will ever hit that cap. You may need a higher score than 60 to receive an invitation for an occupation that is expected to hit the occupation ceiling, which is treated differently than other jobs.

Common problems for applicants

  • Make sure you select the appropriate occupation when making a nomination. Since the visa approval or denial hinges on the nominated occupation, it cannot be changed after the application has been submitted.
  • If you have not met the English language requirement within the last three years, you should take an English proficiency exam as soon as feasible after deciding to apply for a General Skilled Migration visa.
  • Always check the terms and restrictions of your current visa if you wish to apply from within Australia. If your visa expires without being renewed, you may face serious consequences even if you apply for a new one the very next day.

Skilled independent visa applicant FAQ

You are free to submit an application from either inside or outside of Australia.

The visa can be obtained either before entering Australia or after entering Australia.

Family members under the age of 23 and legal or common-law partners. Your adult children must be totally dependent on you financially.

The health condition is strictly enforced for this visa.

A permanent visa has a five-year validity period. This allows you to remain in Australia indefinitely, but if you leave for more than five years and then wish to come back, you’ll need to apply for a resident return visa.

Visa Details

Visa Subclass:
Length of stay:
From AUD 4,115
Contact Us