051 6121705

Meet with an Experienced Migration Agent Today

Skilled Visa

Skilled Regional (Provisional) Visa – Subclass 491

People who need an additional 15 points under the regular capable migration points test to migrate to Australia will benefit significantly from this program. The first step is to apply for a provisional visa (subclass 491), which allows you to stay in Australia for up to three years while you establish residency and earn enough money to qualify for a permanent visa (subclass 191). A regional Australian family member or an Australian state or territory might sponsor you for this visa.

The application process for subclass 491 visa – state nomination

  1. Locate a profession using the ANZSCO
  2. Find a state or territory with a migration plan that includes that profession.
  3. apply to a skill evaluation and have it come out well.
  4. Take an English exam if one is required.
  5. Make a nomination request to the appropriate state or territory (some states do not require this)
  6. Submission of an Expression of Interest (EOI) to SkillSelect
  7. Get a call up for an application
  8. Submit your application within 60 days.

The application process for subclass 491 visa – family sponsorship

  1. Choose a profession from the list of desirable skills.
  2. apply to a skills evaluation and get a good report so that you can work in a specialized field.
  3. Take an English proficiency exam if you must.
  4. Send an Expression of Interest (EOI) to SkillSelect, naming a relative who can act as your sponsor.
  5. Obtain a call for applications.
  6. Apply within 60 days.

Visa eligibility criteria

The primary requirements for a Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa, subclass 491, are as follows:

  • In Australia, nominations come from individual states and territories.
  • A good occupational skills evaluation
  • Having an English proficiency of 6 or above on the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) or its equivalent
  • Being in the age bracket of 18-45. That means you can’t be 45 years old, either.
  • Acceptable levels of health and morality

To get at least 65 out of a possible 100 on the General Skilled Migration point test.

Family sponsorship criteria

The following requirements must be met to qualify as a family sponsor for migration to Australia:

  • The minimum age to participate is 18.
  • You need to be a citizen of Australia, a permanent resident of Australia, or an eligible citizen of New Zealand.
  • You need to show that you’re “typically resident” in a smaller Australian city or town (i.e., outside the major cities)
  • If you are not the principal applicant but are related to them as a:
  1. Parent
  2. Child or stepchild
  3. Sibling
  4. Aunt or uncle
  5. Nephew or niece
  6. Grandparent; or
  7. First cousin

State nomination

Nomination standards in Australia vary per state and territory. Some offer preferences to those who have graduated from a university in that state or territory, are employed in that region or have close relatives living there. There is detailed information at the following addresses:

  • Western Australia
  • Northern Territory
  • Queensland
  • New South Wales
  • Australian Capital Territory
  • Victoria
  • Tasmania
  • South Australia

The points test

All candidates to migrate to Australia through the General Skilled Migration program are ranked based on a points test. Applicants must reach at least 65 points, but those with higher points will generally be invited before those with lower points.

Subclass 491 applicant FAQ

Applications from both inside and outside Australia will be accepted.

The visa can be obtained either before entering Australia or after entering Australia.

People under the age of 23 and their wives or common-law partners. Your adult children must rely on you for financial support.

The mandatory health examination is not deferrable for this visa.

The validity of this visa is limited to a maximum of four years.

Visa Details

Visa Subclass:
Length of stay:
Up to four years

From AUD 4,115
Contact Us